Live Webcast/Rebroadcast – You watch the course online at the specified date and time shown below. You can ask questions and receive answers during the course.
On-Demand – You watch the course anytime and will have access to the course 24/7. Our On-Demand courses are available within 5-10 business days after the original recording and accessible for one year.
This program was recorded on May 29, 2018
Over the next 30 to 40 years, $30 trillion in financial and non-financial assets are expected to pass from the baby boomers — the wealthiest and one-time largest generation in U.S. history — to their heirs. With all of this wealth has come a deluge of physical and financial Elder Abuse by care gives, family members and some professionals. The Legislature has provided stiff penalties, in both the Welfare and Institutions Code and Probate Code, for elder abusers including: treble damages, mandatory attorney fees and disinheritance. Learn about the California elder abuse statutes and how to apply them.
Amy Harrington is the lead attorney of a boutique law firm focused on probate and family law matters. She regularly handles trust and probate litigation (including elder abuse), conservatorships, estate planning, trust and probate administration services. Ms. Harrington is a California Probate Referee for San Francisco County and an editor of the CEB California Conservatorship Practice Guide. She frequently gives talks on probate topics and has been a lecturer for NBI, IPE, San Francisco Bar Association, California Probate Referee Association, Professional Fiduciary Association of California, the AIDS Legal Referral Panel and the California Pacific Medical Center. Ms. Harrington graduated from the University of California, Davis with a B.A. degree in political science and sociology and received her J.D. degree from University of California, Hastings College of the Law.
2 General Credits
ProLawCLE will seek approval of any CLE program where the registering attorney is primarily licensed with exceptions stated below. Application is made at the time an attorney registers for a course, therefore approval may not be received at the time of broadcasting.
ProLawCLE does not seek approval in the state of Virginia.
Each state has its own governing rules and regulations with regards to CLE courses and formats, therefore please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for further details about your state's rules. Please visit our State Requirements page for information regarding your state's CLE requirements and/or contact information for your state bar.
As stated in our Reciprocity Provision, ProLawCLE will grant credit in the following states through reciprocity, therefore direct application will not be made in these states:
AK, AR, AZ, CA, CT, DE, DC, FL, HI, MA, MD, ME, MI, MO, ND, NH, NJ, NM, NY, SD, PR.
The following states are self apply. The attorney can apply for credit at no cost. We will provide documentation for them to apply:
CO, IA, NE
OH Attorneys please note: OH Supreme Court will not approve any course that was aired more than 12 months prior.
SC Attorneys please note: Registration must occur no later than 5 business days from the event date or course accreditation is not guaranteed.
ProLawCLE is dedicated to providing quality education from expert speakers and ensuring each attorney receives CLE credit for their participation. If for some reason a particular course does not receive approval in the attorney's primary state of licensure, ProLawCLE will give credit for a future approved course or give a full refund, if applicable.
Each On-Demand course is available to you for 1 year from date of purchase. Additionally, CLE credit is only available within that year.
Read our full Reciprocity Provision here
- Identifying physical and financial elder abuse. Common red flags.
- Standing. Who can bring the case both before and after death.
- Drafting the pleadings.
- Conducting Discovery and Trial
- Collecting the Judgment.